Cardiff Metropolitan Cathedral Choir

Music List

Advent 2016

Sunday 11 September, 11am – 12.15pm: 24th Sunday of Ordinary Time
Mass for Four voices (Byrd), Bleib bei uns (Rheinberger), Faire is the Heaven (Harris)

Sunday 18 September, 11am – 12.15pm: 25th Sunday of the year
Missa O Quam Gloriosum (Victoria), Nyne otpushchayeshi (Rachmaninov), Ave Verum (Byrd)

Sunday 25 September, 11am – 12.15pm: 26th Sunday of the year
Mass for Five voices (Byrd), Sing joyfully (Byrd), I give you a new commandment (David Neville) 

Sunday 2 October, Afternoon Concert
The Cardiff Marathon means that access is not possible by car until midday so the morning service will be organ only. Instead, The Cathedral Choir, Concert Orchestra and Brass Ensemble of St John’s College will give a 3.30pm Afternoon concert on Sunday 2 October at the Dora Stoutzker Concert Hall at the Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama.

Sunday 9 October, 11am – 12.15pm: 28th Sunday of the year and Baptism
Mass for Four voices (Byrd), My beloved Spake (Hadley), Te lucis ante terminum (Balfour Gardiner)

Sunday 16 October, 11am – 12.15pm: 29th Sunday of the year
Missa Brevis K140 (Mozart), Bogoroditsye Dyevo (Rachmaninov), Lobet den Herrn (Bach)

Sunday 23rd October (organ only) and Sunday 30 October (organ only)

Thursday 3 November Outreach Afternoon at Cornerstone

Sunday 6 November, 11am – 12.15pm: Joint Mass with archdiocesan pupils.
Magdalen Nuptial Mass (David Neville), Gaelic Blessing (Rutter), The Lord bless you and keep you (Rutter), O Quam Gloriosum (Victoria) 

Sunday 13 November, 11am – 12.25pm: Remembrance Sunday
Requiem (Fauré), and plainsong Missa pro Defunctis, God so loved the world (Stainer), Kontakion 

Sunday 20 November, 11am – 12.15pm: Christ the King
Missa O Quam Gloriosum (Victoria), Jesu Rex Admirabilis (Palestrina), Haec Dies (Byrd) 

Sunday 27 November, 11am – 12.15pm: First Sunday of Advent
Adaptation of Great Service (Byrd), A Spotless Rose (Howells), Es ist ein Ros entsprungen (Praetorius)

Tuesday 29 November 1pm Lunchtime Christmas Concert at St David’s Hall.
Tickets available from St David’s Hall Box Office 029 20 878 444 / www.stdavidshallcardiff.co.uk 

Sunday 4 December, 11am – 12.15pm: Feast of St Nicholas
Missa Sancti Nicolai (Haydn), Wachet Auf (extract from Bach Cantata BWV 140),  Nun komm der Heiden Heiland (extract from Bach Cantata BWV 61) (JC)

Thursday 8 December – Feast of the Immaculate Conception and Official Opening of the Cornerstone. 

This will be a major day-time event and an evening service. Details to follow.

Sunday 11 December, 11am – 12.15pm: 3rd Sunday of Advent
Mass for five voices (Byrd), Truth from above (Vaughan Williams), Laetentur Coeli (Byrd)

Friday 16 December, 7pm – 9pm: Prize Giving at St John’s College including orchestral, solo, and choral performances. 

Sunday 18 December, 3pm – 4.30pm Cathedral Carol Service

The morning service will be said.

Saturday 24 December, 10.00pm – Christmas Eve Mass

Choir vacation: 

Sunday 25 December (organ only) and Sunday 1 January (organ only)

St John’s College Term resumes Thursday 5 January

Lent 2017 

Sunday 8 January, 11am – 12.15pm: Epiphany
Magdalen Nuptial Mass (David Neville), Videntes Stellam (Poulenc), The Three Kings (Atkins / Praetorius)

Sunday 15 January, 11am – 12.15pm: Second Sunday in Ordinary Time
Mass for Four Voices (Byrd), Locus Iste (Bruckner), Ave Verum (Byrd)

Sunday 22 January, 12.15pm: Third Sunday in Ordinary Time
Magdalen Nuptial Mass (David Neville), I give you a new commandment (David Neville), Nunc Dimittis from the Great Service (Byrd)

Sunday 29 January, 11am – 12.15pm: Fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time and we mark the end of the Cathedral’s Centenary Year
Little Organ Mass (Haydn), Jubilate Deo (Gabrieli), Locus Iste (Bruckner) JH

Sunday 5 February, 11am – 12.15pm: Fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time
Mass for Five Voices (Byrd), Ubi Caritas (Alan Llewellyn Thomas), Os Justi (Bruckner).

Sunday 12 February, 11am – 12.15pm: Sixth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Tydi a Roddaist (Arwel Hughes),  Greater love hath no man than this (Ireland), Calon Lân (Welsh Traditional) JC

Sunday 19 February (organ only) and Sunday 26 February (organ only).

Wednesday 1 March, Ash Wednesday, 12 noon for 12.30pm – 1.30pm,
sung by R11, R13 and R14 choristers and adult singers.
Miserere (Allegri), God so loved the world (Stainer). 

Sunday 5 March, 11am – 12.15pm: 1st Sunday of Lent
Mass for Four voices (Byrd), extracts from Part Two of Messiah (Handel) JC

Sunday 12 March, 11am – 12.15pm:  2nd Sunday of Lent
Mass for Three Voices (Byrd), Seniores Populi (Victoria), Crucifixus (Lotti)

Sunday 19 March11am – 12.15pm:  3rd Sunday of Lent
Missa Brevis K140 (Mozart), extracts from Part Two of Messiah (Handel)

Tuesday 21 March, 1pm Lunchtime Concert at St David’s Hall: Parts Two and Three from Handel Messiah

Tickets available from St David’s Hall Box Office 029 20 878 444 / www.stdavidshallcardiff.co.uk

Sunday 26 March, 11am – 12.15pm: 4th Sunday of Lent and Laetare Sunday
Missa Brevis K140 (Mozart), Ave Maris Stella (Grieg), Greater Love (Ireland)

Sunday 2 April, 11am – 12.15pm: 5th Sunday of Lent
Missa Brevis K140 (Mozart), Hear my prayer (Purcell), Stabat Mater (Palestrina)

St John’s College Term ends Friday 7 April but cathedral choir services continue until Easter Sunday.

Saturday 8 April: St Matthew Passion (Bach), involving a small number of choristers who have opted to take part in this.

Holy Week

Sunday 9 April, Palm Sunday (full choir) 11am – 12.20pm
Plainsong mass, Hosanna to the Son of David (Weelkes), Ave Verum (Byrd), Civitas Sancti tui (Byrd)

Wednesday 12 April, Mass of the Chrism (full choir) 11.30am – 12.50pm
Kleine Orgel Messe (Haydn), Beati Quorum Via (Stanford), The Lord bless you and keep you (Rutter), Greater Love (Ireland) 

Thursday 13 April, Mass of the Lord’s Supper 6.30pm – 7.30pm
(Adult singers and R10 – R12 choristers): 
Mass for Three Voices (Byrd), Lamentations (Tallis), Ubi Caritas (Duruflé), Seniores Populi from the Tenebrae Responsories (Victoria)

Friday 14 April, Good Friday (full choir) 3.00pm – 4.45pm
Caligaverunt from the Tenebrae Responsories (Victoria), Lamentations (Tallis), Hear my prayer (Purcell), Crucifixus (Lotti), Miserere (Allegri), Ave Verum (Byrd), God so loved the world (Stainer), Stabat Mater (Palestrina), The 16 stave Crucifixus (Caldara).

Saturday 15 April, Easter Vigil 8.30pm – 10.25pm
(Adult singers and R13 – sixth form choristers): 
Sicut Cervus (Palestrina), Terra Tremuit (Byrd), As one who has slept (Tavener)

Sunday 16 April, Easter Sunday (full choir) 11am – 12.25pm
Mass in G (Schubert), Haec Dies (Byrd), This joyful Eastertide (Wood), Victimae Paschali Laudes 

Choir vacation: Sunday 23 April (Organ only)

DVD recording at the cathedral on the afternoon of Monday 24 April

Sunday 30 April (Bank Holiday Weekend: Organ only)

Easter 2017

Friday 5 May, 7.30pm Evening Concert at the Cathedral and Cornerstone given by the Cathedral Choir, Concert Orchestra and our visiting choir from Belgium: Musart.

Sunday 7 May, 11am – 12.15pm, 3rd Sunday of Easter

Mass for Four Voices (Byrd), Ave Maris Stella (Grieg), Jauchzet dem Herrn (Schütz) 

Sunday 14 May, 11am  – 12.20pm, 4th Sunday of Easter, Confirmation of pupils of St John’s College 
Missa Brevis (Mozart), Dum Complerentur (Palestrina), Denn er hat seinen Engeln befohlen (Mendelssohn)

Sunday 21 May, 11am – 12.15pm, 5th Sunday of Easter
Adaptation of the Great Service (Byrd), Ascendit Deus (Philips), Ave Maria (Parsons)

Sunday 28 May (Organ only) and Sunday 4 June (Organ only – Pentecost)

Sunday 11 June, 11am – 12.15pm, Trinity Sunday
Mass for Double Choir (Rheinberger), Hymn to the Virgin (Britten), Firmly I believe and Truly

BBC Radio 4: Broadcast Rehearsal on the afternoon of Saturday 17 and actual broadcast on the morning of Sunday 18 June

Sunday 18 June, 11am – 12.25pm, The Feast of Corpus Christi and First Holy Communion of St John’s College pupils sung by the Junior Girls’ Choir

Sunday 25 June, 11am – 12.15pm, 12th Sunday in Ordinary Time: 
Missa Brevis K140 (Mozart), O for the wings of a Dove (Mendelssohn)

Sunday 2 July, 11am – 12.15pm, 13th Sunday in Ordinary Time:
Mass for four voices (Byrd), Ave Maria (Mattei), This is the record of John (Gibbons)

Thursday 6 July, 2.15pm Evensong at Gonville and Caius College Cambridge

Guests at the rehearsal of the choirs of King’s College and St John’s College Cambridge at King’s College Chapel

Sunday 9 July, 11am – 12.15pm, 14th Sunday of the year Missa Papae Marcelli (Palestrina), Faire is the heaven (Harris)

Tuesday 11 July, 7pm Concert given by the Metropolitan Cathedral Choir and Concert Orchestra of St John’s College at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama

Saturday 15 July, 6pm Service at Westminster Cathedral. Further details to follow.

For further information about joining the Cathedral Choir, 

Please email Director of Choral Music Dominic Neville via dpneville@stjohnscollegecardiff.com